Chennaiyin FC hosts chess players and officials for friendly football matches

While Chennai is already experiencing chess fever, Chennaiyin FC supported the friendly football matches organized by the International Chess Federation (FIDE) at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, which was facilitated by the Government of Tamil Nadu, including the Minister of State Sports, Thiru Siva against Meyyanathan.

Chess legend Viswanathan Anand along with officials from Chess Federation of India and FIDE teams from Africa, America, Europe and Asia took part in the matches on Thursday. The teams were divided into two groups of three each.

The five-time world champion was not only in his football gear but also showed off his moves on the football pitch.

Anand joked after the friendly match, “There are a lot of chess players who play football. European and African teams are football fanatics. I’m very interested in football and I follow the game but I don’t play. a lot but I really enjoyed the It was a great opportunity for everyone to bond and I know it works in other ways too There are a lot of footballers who like to play chess to relax , so it’s good to have both.

The tournament was won by the African continent.

Chennaiyin FC are set to participate in the upcoming Durand Cup ahead of Indian Super League Season 9 and India’s Olympiad contingent mentor, Anand wished the team ahead of the season: “I wish the Chennaiyin Fc team and their fans good luck and all the best for the new season.”

The title holder of the Durand Cup is FC Goa.

The tournament is expected to start from August 16.

This year, the Durand Cup has grown to 20 teams from 16 last year and all 11 Indian Super League (ISL) teams have confirmed their participation. Five I-League teams and four Services teams will also be vying for the coveted honours.

FC Goa are in Group A alongside Mohammedan SC, Bengaluru FC, Jamshedpur FC and Indian Air Force.

There will be a total of 47 matches in the Durand Cup this year, with West Bengal hosting the Group A and Group B matches, while Imphal and Guwahati will host the Group C and Group D matches respectively. Knockout matches will be held at all three venues in West Bengal.

The tournament will culminate with the grand final scheduled for September 18, 2022 at the Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan (VYBK) in Kolkata.

(Only the title and image of this report may have been edited by Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear reader,

Business Standard has always endeavored to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that matter to you and that have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your constant encouragement and feedback on how to improve our offering has only strengthened our resolve and commitment to these ideals. Even in these challenging times stemming from Covid-19, we remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative opinions and incisive commentary on relevant topical issues.
However, we have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more so that we can continue to bring you more great content. Our subscription model has received an encouraging response from many of you who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of bringing you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practice the journalism we are committed to.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

digital editor

Comments are closed.