Novy Bor Chess Club and ASVOe Pamhagen win the European Club Cup 2022

The 37th European Chess Club Cup and 26th European Women’s Club Cup ended yesterday in Mayrhofen, Austria, with Novy Bor Chess Club winning the title in the Open section and ASVOe Pamhagen winning the women’s tournament.

Czech side Novy Bor beat Asnières Le Grand Echiquier of France in the thrilling final round to score an impressive 7/7 and 14 match points. Harikrishna Pentala and Anton Guijarro David brought the important victories to the winning team, while Vidit Santosh Gujrathi lost to Esipenko Andrey on second board. With three more matches ending in a draw, Novy Bor narrowly won the match and claimed gold.

The French team Clichy-Echecs-92 won their last match against Magnus Carlsen’s Offerspill Chess Club. Maghsoodloo Parham had a very good chance against World Chess Champion Magnus Carlsen, but the game eventually ended in a draw. The heroes of the France team were Amin Bassem and Vocaturo Daniel who won their matches on the third and fourth boards (respectively) for the final result 4-2. With 12 match points, Clichy-Echecs-02 won the silver medal.

In another final round medal game, Schachclub Viernheim 1934e.V. wins over Vugar Gashimov. Fedorchuk Sergey and Tarlev Konstantin scored for Viernheim 1934e.V. while the other games ended in a draw. With 11 match points, the German team won bronze.

Final rankings and results are available here.

Austria’s ASVOe Pamhagen drew Polish side BGK KS Gwiazda Bydgoszcz in the last round to score 12 match points and become the sole winner of the 26th European Women’s Club Cup. Danielian Elina lost his first board match to Kashlinskaya Alina, but Osmak Iulia delivered a crucial victory in Pamhagen as the other two matches ended peacefully – a draw.

In the other two medal matches, the two favorites from the Cercle d’Echecs de Monte-Carlo and the CSU ASE Superbet (Romania) won their matches against the Ukrainian Bleu & Jaune and the Englishman Wood Green (respectively). Monte-Carlo and CSU ASE Superbet tied for second with 11 match points each, but the tie breaker (Olympiade Sonneborn Berger) determined the Romanian team’s silver.

The Cercle d’Echecs de Monte-Carlo won bronze.

Final rankings and results are available here.

The best individual players per draw were determined based on scoring performance.

Open the Plate 1 section:
1. Magus Carlsen (Offerspill Chess Club), Rp: 2889
2. Harikrishna Pentala (Novy Bor Chess Club), Rp: 2765
3. Maghsoodloo Parham (Clichy-Chess-92), Rp: 2739

Open the Plate 2 section:
1. Esipenko Andrey (Asnières Le Grand Echiquier), Rp: 2897
2. Vidit Santosh Gujrathi (Novy Bor Chess Club), Rp: 2885
3. Shevchenko Kirill (Vugar Gashimov), Rp: 2837

Open the Plate 3 section:
1. Amin Bassem (Clichy-Chess-92), Rp:2832
2. Deac Bogdan-Daniel (CSU ASE Superbet), Rp: 2740
3. Idani Pouya (Silla – Valencia Origin of Chess, Rp: 2699)

Open the Plate 4 section:
1. Volokitin Andrei (TAJFUN – SK Ljubljana), Rp: 2931
2. Fedorchuk Sergey A. (Schachclub Viernheim 1934e.V.), Rp: 2792
3. Vocaturo Daniele (Clichy-Chess-92), Rp: 2712

Open the Plate 5 section:
1. Van Wely Loek (Clichy-Chess-92), Rp: 2703
2. Forcen Esteban Daniel (Silla – València Origin of chess), Rp: 2688
3. Wagner Dennis (Schachclub Viernheim 1934e.V.) Rp: 2632

Open the Board 6-8 section:
1. Sebenik Matej (TAJFUN SK Ljubljana) Rp: 3018
2. Anton Guijarro David (Novy Bor Chess club), Rp: 2907
3. Tarlev Konstantin (Schachclub Viernheim 1934e.V.), Rp:2711

The top individual players in the women’s tournament are:

Table female section 1:
1. Kashlinskaya Alina (BGK KS Gwiazda Bydgoszcz), Rp: 2538
2. Muzychuk Mariya (TAJFUN SK Ljubljana), Rp: 2517
3. Bulmaga Irina (CSU ASE Superbet), Rp: 2515

Table female section 2:
1. Ushenina Anna (ASVOe Pamhagen), Rp: 2539
2. Kiolbasa Oliwia (BGK KS Gwiazda Bydgoszcz), Rp: 2481
3. Roebers Eline (SK Erste Bank Baden), Rp: 2476

Table female section 3:
1. Wagner Dinara (SK Erste Bank Baden), Rp: 2518
2. Osmak Yuliia (ASVOe Pamhagen), Rp: 2505
3. Cramling Pia (Chess Circle of Monte-Carlo), Rp: 2442

Table female section 4:
1. Efroimski Marsel (CSU ASE Superbet), Rp: 2564
2. Maltsevskaya Aleksandra (ASVOe Pamhagen), Rp: 2563
3. Paehtz Elisabeth (Chess Circle of Monte-Carlo), Rp: 2397

The closing ceremony of the event took place last night in the presence of ECU Treasurer Ion Dobronauteanu, ECU Tournament Director Petr Pisk and Chief Organizer Johann Poecksteiner.

The 37th European Chess Club Cup and the 26th European Women’s Club Cup took place from October 2 to 10 in Mayrhofen, Austria. With the participation of 87 teams (70 in the open section and 17 in the women’s section), the event broke the participation record.

Official event website

Photos: Fiona Steil-Antoni, The photo gallery can be found on the facebook page of the event


Comments are closed.