The AICF organizes 13 international chess tournaments for 2022 and increases the prices of nationals

New Delhi, December 6 (IANS) After signing a new annual sponsor, the All-India Chess Federation (AICF) has hosted no less than 13 open international tournaments across the country as part of a busy schedule for 2022. And to make things attractive to players, the AICF has increased the prize money for all national championships, having succeeded in arranging sponsorship for all major events.

“For the first time, we have a sponsor for all national events in the form of MPL,” said AICF President Sanjay Kapoor. “Thanks to them and our other efforts, we will offer attractive prizes at every tournament,” he added.

The AICF signed a sponsorship agreement worth Rs 1 crore per year with MPL Sports and therefore decided to spend Rs 76 lakh as prize money for the various national championships. The prize fund for senior nationals, open and women, will see an increase of Rs 10 lakh while the prize money for national juniors will be increased by Rs 7.50 lakh.

The year of chess will kick off with the MPL National Junior Championship (Under 20) at the IGI Stadium in New Delhi while Ahmedabad will have the honor of hosting the first international tournament, the Ahmedabad International Open, from 23 February to March 2, the AICF informed Monday in a statement.

The big events, the MPL Women’s National Championship (February 9-19) and the MPL Senior National Championship (February 9-21), will be held simultaneously in Bheemavaram in Andhra Pradesh and Kanpur, respectively. The senior national MPL championship in Bheemavaram will have a total fund of Rs 30 lakh while that of the women’s event in Kanpur will be Rs 25 lakh.

Indian teams for all major world championships in the year 2022 will be selected from these events.

“These are exciting times for Indian chess,” said AICF secretary Bharat Singh Chauhan. “Our players, coming directly from the Under-8 category, will have plenty of opportunities to show their talent and get noticed.”

The other international tournaments will be held in Pune (March 4-11), Guwahati (March 13-20), Delhi (March 22-29), Kolkata (May 21-29), Bhubaneswar (May 31-June 8), Visakhapatnam ( 10-18 June), Bengaluru (20-28 June), Punjab (22-30 August), Bikaner (1-9 September), Indore (11-19 September), Chhattisgarh (21-29 September) and Uttar Pradesh (1 October 9).


bsk / cs

Comments are closed.