The best chess players ready to compete for the national championship

The Sri Lanka National Chess Championships (Open and Ladies) organized by the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka (CFSL) will be held in two stages from April 23-25 ​​and April 28-May 1 at Kobbekaduwa Agrarian Research Institute, Wijerama Mawatha, Colombo 07.

According to CFSL President Luxman Wijesuriya, 13 rounds are in this tournament which will be played on a round robin basis. Moreover, this tournament is also considered as the selection event for the Sri Lankan men’s and women’s national teams for the FIDE Chess Olympiad 2022 and the top five players will be eligible to participate in this event.

There will be another chance this time that players who participate in this event can participate in the Asian Games, but the inclusion of the chess team has not been confirmed by the Olympic Committee.

National Chess Champion, Susal De Silva and Sri Lanka’s number one player, Ranindu Liyanage will play as direct entries in the Open event.

Unfortunately, National Women’s Chess Champion, Tharushi Niklesha and Harshana Thilakarathne withdrew from the tournament due to personal reasons.

However, Sachini Ranasinghe, the four-time Women’s National Champion who is also the first player to earn the Women’s International Masters (WIM) title, will compete this time around while promising players Sanudula Dehamdi, Oneli Withanawasam will also compete for the women’s title.

The top twelve players from the Sri Lanka National Chess Championship (Top Division) and the top 14 players from the Top Division of the Sri Lanka Women’s National Chess Championship are eligible to play in this Sri Lanka National Chess Championship .

Meanwhile, CFASL has decided to increase the prize money by 50% in view of CFSL’s Golden Jubilee this year where the total prize money will be Rs. 498,000/= The male champion will receive Rs. 1,50,000 cash award while the female champion will receive Rs. 1,00,000.

The first runners-up (male) and female will receive Rs.75,000 and Rs.50,000 respectively. Additionally, 3-5 places will receive cash prizes. The following players are eligible to participate in this tournament.

For the open event – Susal De Silva, Ranindu Liyanage, SDBK Senevirathne, Isuru Alahakoon, Nabil Nazar, Brijeash Saravanabhavan, Thumula Kiriella, LisaraTennakoon, Buddhika Amarasinghe, Dhanushka Yatigammana, Achintha Kaluarachchi, Chandana Wijekoon, Sithija Lahiru and ElathMathanga.

Even the woment – Minethma Wickramasinghe, Wishwara Mapa, Sanudula Dahamdi, Nemindi Ramanayake, Tiyumi Yashora, Pasindi Wijesuriya, Yasasi Abeysekara, Desandi Gamage, Oneli Withanawasam, WMMNWijesinghe, Chamodya Yapabandara, Esha Pallie, Sachini Ranasinghe and Janandani Abeysinghe.

Comments are closed.